Peebles Curling Club

Home News Rinks Gallery History



Peebles Curling AGM, Dinner and Tribute to Bill Goodburn

Peebles Curlers and partners met at the Tontine Hotel, Peebles, on Friday 26th April for their end of season AGM and dinner with prize-giving. Outgoing President Iain McLeod reported on a successful season with Peebles, for the first time in 50 years, retaining the Paterson Rosebowl, in competition against the other clubs in the Peeblesshire Province. Once again Peebles will represent the Province in the Scottish National finals in November. The Peebles Province teams throughout the season have been: Skip Graeme Coulthard, with Morris Anderson, Roger Scott and John Cairns; Skip Robbie Goodburn, with Andrew Muir, Billy Emerson and Gary Swinney.

Iain paid tribute to the Club’s Life President, Bill Goodburn, who has laid his broom to rest after 57 years of curling. Such longevity was a surprise to Bill who has not been marking the years. Bill’s final game was a very creditable performance in the Points in March. Despite this, Bill could not be prevailed upon to return to the ice but he will continue to be a great supporter of Peebles Curling. He has many fond memories of a game that has adapted over the years. No longer does play stop at half time for all to partake of a dram. The second half play could be so different from the first! Bill regrets that he was never able to participate in an outdoor bonspiel. Building his solicitor’s practice meant he was unable to just drop everything when the opportunity arose. Such occasions, when the ice on ponds and lochs is thick enough, are few and far between. Climate change and health and safety rules means such are very unlikely for the future. The Club intends to hold an event later in the year to pay homage to Bill’s remarkable career in curling, an achievement which Edinburgh Curling also intends to recognise.

Bill Goodburn

Following the presentation and acceptance of the treasurer’s and secretary’s reports, the current committee of Gary Swinney, treasurer, Tom Hardie, secretary, Derek McIntosh and Jill Black was re-elected and Douglas Bringhurst was appointed, with Alisdair Dawson also re-elected and appointed the new Club president. Tom Hardie succeeds him as vice-president and will be president for the bi-centenary celebrations in the autumn of 2021.

An enjoyable dinner was held with Tom Hardie sharing amusing club anecdotes that gently teased some club members. Those targeted who were not in attendance will have to wonder! There followed the prize-giving and the presentation of some grand and historical trophies such as the 1823 Points medal, won by Gary Swinney.

The main club premier competition, the Rink Championship, was won by Robbie Goodburn’s rink, with Iain McLeod, Gary Swinney and Douglas Bringhurst. The “thirds” league, the John Milne trophy, was won by Graeme Coulthard’s rink, with Brian Stanage, James Muir and Andy Muir. The final league competition, the Ballantyne Salver, went to Alisdair Dawson, with Robbie Goodburn, Jill Black and Graeme Coulthard. Gary Swinney capped a successful season by gaining the Silver Broom and he also triumphed in the Pairs alongside Graeme Coulthard, another high achiever. Graeme also skipped the team that was victorious in the Royal Bank Quaich with Douglas Bringhurst and Brian Stanage his fellow team members. The three competitions that pitted the main club against the ladies’ section saw the main club (mostly men) victorious against the ladies by two to one, with the main club winning the Blackwood Quaich and the Waddell Quaich and the ladies victorious in the Denmark Trophy. Finally, Peebles’ youngest member, James Muir, was awarded the Blackstock trophy as most improved player.

Rink Championship Winners

So, Peebles curlers have a 6 months’ break from their sport, to find solace in other activities whilst they build their resolve to be even better next season. It is intended that club members will get together over the summer for some friendly golf and bowling, with food and refreshments following.

Peeblesshire Province, Patterson Rose-bowl and Closing Bonspiel Feb 2019

Sunday 10th Feb saw the Province Closing Bonspiel and final Round of the Patterson Rose-bowl. This is played for by the Clubs within Peeblesshire Province namely Broughton CC, Eddleston CC, Newlands CC, Peebles CC, West Linton CC and a team comprised of a Presidents select and Peebles Ladies.

The Peebles teams through the season have been: Skip-Graeme Coulthard, Morris Anderson, Roger Scott and John Cairns. Skip-Robbie Goodburn, Andy Muir, Billy Emerson and Gary Swinney.

Peebles were in a good position vying to win the Rose-bowl for the second year running. The Dunlop Quaich is also played for at the same time and goes to the team with the highest scoring average across the bonspeil.

Over the course of the bonspeil Peebles ran out overall winners of the Patterson Rose-bowl and the Dunlop Quaich.

Patterson Rose-bowl

Peebles skips Graeme Couthard and Robbie Goodburn receiving The Patterson Rose-bowl from President Ian Rose.

Dunlop Quaich

Peebles skips Graeme Coulthard and Robbie Goodburn receiving The Dunlop Quaich for President Ian Rose.

Scottish Curling Province Championships 9th-11th Nov 2018 Update

An excellent two days of curling saw the Peebles Curling Club members, representing Peeblesshire Province, playing in the round robin stages against Teams from the Provinces of East Lothian, Ayrshire, Inverness, East of Fife and Upper Strathearn. Against the top teams from these Provinces Peebleshire finished mid table, with a few closely contested ends going to the other teams, Peebleshire narrowly missed qualifying for the knock out stages.

Well done to all, and thank you for representing Peeblesshire Curling.

Scottish Curling Province Championships 9th-11th Nov 2018

As a result of Peebles CC winning the Patterson Rose-bowl, Peeblesshire Province main competition, five members will represent the Club at the Scottish Curling Province Championships. This will be held over the weekend of the 9th to 11th November at Greenacres.

The team will comprise Morris Anderson, Graeme Coulthard. Roger Scott, Michael Ireland and Andy Muir.